Nutrition

I’ve haven’t been diligent in writing again!  Thankfully it’s not because I fell of the workout wagon.  I’ve just been busy with work, working out, and trying to stay present with my children when I’m home with them.  I’ve also added meditation to my nightly roster, partially to help me wind down to get to sleep faster as I have been tossing and turning a lot when I finally get to bed.

Regardless of what my darling husband may think, I do listen to the things he has to say.  In this instance I’m not sure his advice works for me.  He suggested I focus on working out and not diet, or at least not both right away.  However, for me it’s always been the food.

While I am happy that I’ve committed to exercising, I am more concerned about my eating.  It’s really always been about the food for me.  In the past, I have been able to lose weight by diet only.

Simply, I love food.  I love to eat.  I like the crappy food.  I don’t like the way it makes me feel sometimes, but I do love to eat it.

My diet hasn’t been complete crap though.  Since I started this new job in January my I’ve been eating healthier than in recent memory.  Every day I work I have a salad.  Sometimes a healthy dressing, and sometimes blue cheese or ranch.  Salads are one of the only ways I get my veggies in.  I think I didn’t want to look like a complete hog in front of new people.

I have had trouble controlling my night eating when I get home.  On the drive home (35 minutes) I would eat an apple and 2 hard boiled eggs; then when I got home I would end up gorging a little.  So I’ve tried switching it up and waiting until I get home to have my eggs.  I’ve been somewhat successful but I have not committed to a strict nutrition plan.

I named this entry Nutrition because diet implies something that will come to an end.  I need to change up my nutritional patterns.  Eliminate the processed foods, severely limit my carbs.  Every day I wake up ready to commit, then by lunch I crumble.  One meal at a time I suppose.

Leave a comment