NSV

Those in the fitness and nutrition arena will be familiar with NSV.  I did not know until recently that it means Non Scale Victory.

Because I haven’t focused on nutrition I haven’t lost any weight.  Well, 2lbs.

However, there have been other advances.

Today I jogged for 4 minutes twice.  I’ve been semi-following a couch to 5k program I found on Pinterest where you alternate between walking and jogging.  I have been taking more days with each interval than it calls for but today I walked for 5 minutes, jogged for 4, walked for 5, jogged for 4, then walked for 5.  For me it’s a big deal.

I’ve been less winded at work when walking through the hallways and talking to patients.

My body doesn’t hate me as much–I’m able to move, bend, twist easier.

My shoulder that’s been hurting me since I painted three ceilings in my house when pregnant 2 years ago doesn’t hurt as much and has more range of motion.  In fact my entire body has more range of motion than in recent memory.

I feel like I am standing straighter, keeping my back straight (core strength or feeling good about myself?  Maybe both).

Weight is not the be all end all.  There are other ways you can mark your progress than numbers on the scale!

 

Leave a comment